The Paper Mache Christian

What Are You Being Molded to Look Like?

Jeremiah 18:1-10 This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord: “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him. Then the word of the Lord came to me. He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the Lord. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel. If at any time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down and destroyed, and if that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned. And if at another time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be built up and planted, and if it does evil in my sight and does not obey me, then I will reconsider the good I had intended to do for it. 

Consider this, when a pot is on a wheel being made it is pressed to take a certain shape. I think back to art class whenI made a paper mache pig but I first put the ballon underneath so the paste and paper would conform to its proper shape. Now if we are in Christ and Christ is in us, the shape we ought to take more and more as God presses on our lives should conform to him who dwells in us, right?

2 Corinthians 4:16-18 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 

When God presses the Christian he is perfecting Christ in them, for as John the baptist said, “He must increase and I must decrease”

So if all our pains and sufferings help us love more like Christ we have not become losers,

If all our disciplinings and corrections help us follow closer and fall into sin less we become winners,

If our hardships shape our compassion and teach us to serve better and humble ourselves more then we become more and more like the light Christ calls us to be to shine in the darkness, we win!

Leave a Reply

