Diversity Is An Opportunity To Grow, Not Divide

There are Christ followers from all races, backgrounds and walks of life. When we come to know the love of our Savior we all come carrying different sins, burdens, and past experiences. This is why Christians can be so different in their perspectives on some things. Some people come to faith after being raised in Christian homes, yet others come to Christ from total absence of any religious background. We have Christian’s who grew up poor and had families that struggled financially but others had a two parent family and had a fairly good up bringing.

The beauty of it is Christ does not discriminate and judge any of us by social status, IQ or family background. When we get saved and come to know the love of God we all however do bring the same thing, our sin and need for Jesus Christ and God’s love.

We do have the bond of the blood of Christ that holds all true Christians together though despite our differences. We need not divide but whomever we may be and whatever our circumstances are we are called to love our brothers and sisters in the faith.

John 13:34-35 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” – Jesus.

So the Christian who has been blessed with much has a golden opportunity to share with the brother or sister who has little. Also the one who may not have much in the means of financial success is still loved by God as well and through God’s Spirit living in them can still be rich. We all have spiritual gifts to build up the Church, the fellow believers and family of faith. In Christ Jesus we will not lack any resource or bit of strength we need to do God’s will and serve his family.

Philippians 4:10-20 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

God has blessed us all to be a blessing. Praise the Lord for this since he has given us all something to use to enhance the lives of others who are in need and by doing so the World that is seeking answers may find the same joy, the same love, and the same faith that we have and burn with zeal for!

Leave a Reply

