Evil Twins

Yes you do indeed have an evil twin,

DOPPEL GANGER

ˈdäpəlˌɡaNGər/

noun

1. an apparition or double of a living person.”he has a doppelgänger named Donald, his invented twin brother”

Yes, when we received Jesus Christ as Lord he gave us a new nature. However, even though the dominion of sin has been crushed we still have to contend with our dethroned old master, self. In the old video game Legend of Zelda, Link the protagonist had to fight his own shadow and in the same sense, we must make a choice to fight our old patterns of living, our old ways of thinking, past tendencies and present shortcomings. It is indeed like fighting your own shadow.

However, Christ has given us victory and the Holy Spirit to help us, his Word to Guide us, and His promises to strengthen us!

Dying to self is not fun alot of the times, but it has tremendous rewards. The world needs less people consumed with themselves and more consumed with Christ and in addition those who have humility to think of others above themselves. Something I by no means am an expert at, but through your prayers I hope to grow to be so consumed with Christ that I no longer have any room for me.

Galatians 2:19-20 “For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

1 Peter 2:11 Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul.

Romans 7:18-20 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

Leave a Reply

