Is Anger Always Sin?

Is anger always sin? I’d say no.
I do not think so, I think anger has great potential for good or evil. If we never got angry over certain things such as injustice or things like human trafficking, or child abuse or blood chilling crimes, then we would be pretty cold and heartless.

Ephesians 4 tells us, “In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” Ephesians 4:26-27

I am thinking that it can be sin at times if it is rooted only in our wants or desires or our selfish desires. However, the honest truth is at some time we all get angry, whether it’s something minor or a serious harm done us. We can conclude from this that unresolved anger can lead to problems. If we let anger go un address it can lead to bitterness. Bitterness is like a nasty spider bite, certain spider bites left untreated will eat deep into tissue and rot flesh, bitterness likewise can seep into every area of our lives. It can affect the way we treat others in the present even if the pain we have felt is past history.

For me, there was a period in life where I had been hurt by certain people and that unresolved anger affected my view of women. Even if I was not being wronged at the present I thought they all were the same, shallow and incapable of anything but causing heartache, rejecting me, or inflicting serious injury. I saw them all the same and began to think there was no such thing as a decent woman. Fortunately I was wrong but in the moment, if you experience a string of incidents from a person or people group then it becomes easy for us to think that every person in that circle is just the same.

This can lead to a pessimistic attitude. It can poison our view of reality. As the old saying goes, “A few bad apples spoils the whole batch.”

The Bible addresses this issue in great depth. God knows how weak we all are and he has provided every believer the resources to fight back, the Holy Spirit and His Word. Ephesians goes on in the same chapter to say,

“Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you. ” Ephesians 4:31-32

“Their vine comes from the vine of Sodom and from the fields of Gomorrah.Their grapes are filled with poison,and their clusters with bitterness.” Deuteronomy 32:32

As you know sour and bitter fruit has an origin.

“See to it that no one falls short of the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many. ” Hebrews 12:15

A bitter root, produces bitter fruit. When I was a captive to this I found myself enjoying the idea of getting even, I wanted to see those who wronged me suffer and know why they were. I was seemingly always acting out of suspicion of ill in people, playing the game pin the tail on the rotten person”

Praise God he worked with me and helped me to forgive every person who had wronged me! I was given the idea from a James McDonald sermon on Bot Radio Network, to write down every person who wronged me and their offense and pray over them and the situation

This helped me resolve a lot of my anger. It was a process that was worth working through.

Leave a Reply

