Faith: Struggling with besetting sins?

This has recently been revealed to me that in my past I had so much trouble letting go of certain sins as a Christian not because I loved to wallow in sin but because I deep down believed I would never break free from certain things. I think many Christians feel this way about certain besetting sins or habits.

Matthew 14:28-30
“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!

“Lord if it is you,” sometimes we like Peter can doubt if God is calling us to do something so we may ask “Lord if it is you” and then add “tell me to come to you on the water”

The water itself represents the impossible, but Jesus says “Come,” and God will never command us to do what he wont enable us to. One may say “what if he calls me to give up everything?” or “what if he calls me to die for him?” Well we know that the Apostle Paul not only gave up all for the gospel, lived for the gospel sake as well as died for the gospel sake and he would say according to : 1 Corinthians 15:10 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.

“Not I, but the grace of God” now if Jesus commands “Come” will he not also equip?

Leave a Reply

