Spiritual bad checks

Written May 24, 2014

Spiritual Bouncies

(1 Samuel 15:22-23) But Samuel replied:‘ Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the Lord? To obey is better than sacrifice,and to heed is better than the fat of rams. For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord,he has rejected you as king.’

This can be really convicting! What does God require of us? That is a very important question we must ask if it is our goal to please Him and know he will judge our very souls when we die.

Saul was rejected by God as King do to disobeying and distrusting God. We are all guilty of this more frequently as Christians than any of us wish to admit! Does God really want our wallets as much as he does our hearts- yes he does want our wallets when our hearts are attached to it. Does God want our time as much as he wants us? Sacrifice says "I am giving up this portion of my day cause I need to" yet Love says "God I give you my time cause I love you and want too!"

If your time and money was a check it would only be as good as the amount of love you had to go with it.

1 Corinthians 13:1-3 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. Now about the gifts of the Spirit, brothers and sisters, I do not want you to be uninformed. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

To give "all I possess to the poor" and to "give over my body to hardship that I may boast" without love is like writing a bad check without the funds to back it up!

We can only give what we have first received. We do not initiate the relationship with God but he seeks us first. So if we want to grow in love for God we must spend time with God.

1 John 4:19 We love because he first loved us.

Hosea 6:6 For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings. 

Matthew 9:13 But go and learn what this means: “I desire mercy, not sacrifice.” For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.’ 

Leave a Reply

